The Brunette Abroad: Traveling, Interning & Experiencing Australia

29 Jun

Hello fellow travelers, adventure seekers, study abroaders, fashionistas and/or curious ones!

blogaus1

This is my first post since I have experienced life in Australia for a month and it’s about time I’ve shared the breathtaking beauty and amazing experiences I’ve had so far with all of you! For the newcomers, this is my first time in Australia and I am interning in Sydney for 3 months on my summer break at a company called Pretty Girl Fashion Group doing public relations and marketing.

IMG_1283My internship has proven to be everything I hoped and more. I work alongside a team of graphic designers, marketing executives, photographers, and artistic directors for 9 hours straight Mon-Fri. Each person is brilliant in their field and has a lot of knowledge to share. Everything I am learning is completely new to me, but refreshingly challenging and creatively stimulating.

I have had the pleasure of working on launching a new e-commerce site for one of our upcoming brands, BeMe. I’ve helped out with the creation and execution of our latest photo shoot with Rockmans. I am responsible for competitor reviews, “As Seen In” columns, communication with editors of magazines and marketing executives of our various shopping centers , as well as implementing and planning details of our events like store openings and charities.

Don’t get me wrong, I have my long days at the computer doing your average intern work as well. Anything from copying down written files into word documents, to recording lists from our ausblog2meetings is fair game as well. Nobody said intern life was going to be fabulous all the time, but it is totally worth it!

When I am not at work, I am taking in the sights as much as I possibly can! I have currently wandered all around the Sydney area including the Opera House, Bondi Beach, Darling Harbor, Manly Beach, Hunter Valley, and the Blue Mountains to name a few. What incredible trips they have been. From wine-tasting and surfing, to dancing with Aboriginals and hiking, my experience abroad has been one I will never forget. The other interns and I have had a blast getting to know some of the locals and enjoying the amazing variety of food and shopping the city has to offer. Sydney is absolutely stunning, and I am convinced I am exactly where I am suppose to be.

A few things I have learned since embracing the Aussie culture:

1. Learn to love face-fulls of salt water

ausblog03

2. Get used to paying ridiculous amounts of money for minimal food

ausblog04

3. Never take the beauty of your home for granted

ausblog05

4. “No Worries Mate” is the motto to live by

P1020864

5. Prepare for random whale encounters, perhaps even 6 feet in front of you

P1020926

6. Drink like a fish, and then drink some more

P1020621

7. Public transport sucks, no matter how popular it is

IMG_1275

8. Live every moment like it could be your last!

IMG_1302

Stay tuned for more details of my experiences at work and my travels outside the city. I look forward to what is to come in these next 2 months and getting the opportunity to share it all with you!

Cheers,

Screen Shot 2013-06-25 at 10.59.50 PM

Leave a Reply

Flamingo Media PR

A lifestyle blog for all.

These Four Walls

Interior design, lifestyle & travel blog focusing on simple Scandinavian-inspired living

Instant Interiors

Behind the scenes of an interior designer's life.

Sierra Says

What I have to say about college, fashion, fitness, and all things adventurous

Clever Designs

Fashion, Home & Office Designs

Design Interrupted

Design Interrupted

20something

Intersection of FASHION & INTERIOR DESIGN

LETSCHATABOUTDINOSAURS

People told me to "get a life". I did, and now I blog about it.

The Pretty Canary

A Beauty and Lifestyles Blog

Brandon Manson

Digital Marketing, Personal Branding and Social Media

